Bodybuilding Forum - Bodybuilding.net

Bodybuilding Forum - Bodybuilding.net (/)
-   MMA (http://www.bodybuilding.net/mma/)
-   -   Martial Arts, opinions? (http://www.bodybuilding.net/mma/martial-arts-opinions-6137.html)

Prane 05-21-2007 08:55 AM

Martial Arts, opinions?
 
Lots to choose from, i've recently decided to get off my ass and get some muscle's happenin :P so other than gym n stuff i have always liked wrestling and fighting since i always win, its not like im strong ::
Judo, Jujitsu, Aikido, Taekwan Do, Karate, kickboxing?

i was thinking about Judo since they have competitions and i love having a BIG goal! What could be better than pinning some half-assed testosterone filled kid to the floor and shit on his Pride!

Have you done/doin a martial art, opinions, flame etc.. please?

hrdgain81 05-21-2007 09:39 AM

There are many many effective arts, and they all have thier own competitions. If your looking to do MMA, I would suggest finding a good MMA gym in your area. The difference between that, and TMA (traditional martial arts) is night and day IMO. You will want to train for your goals, so if you list those we can help narrow your search down more.

Joker13 05-21-2007 10:13 AM

Well I know nothing about MMA, just what I've seen on TV. It does seem like it would have more real world use..if needed of course

hrdgain81 05-21-2007 11:06 AM

joker, by real world use, do you mean self defense? Cause that opens up a whole other can of worms.

Prane 05-22-2007 05:20 AM

Well i would do MMA, except it doesn't exist where i live ( tasmania, the small island below australia, above newzealand. technically part of Australia ).
My goals?
i just want to be physically fitter. i always liked wrestling around, but recently since i've gotten really serious with Soccer and Futsal i've been really pumped and focused. i'm really thinking about Judo or Kick Boxing would be nice to hear from people who have actually done some Martial arts?

ChinPieceDave667 05-22-2007 06:50 AM

If you just like to wrestle then I would do Judo or Juijitsu. Or if you like kickboxing do that. If you like MMA do both because that is basically what it is. I do both and I love it.

Andrew87 05-22-2007 08:04 AM

well
 
I just started brazilian jiu jitsu about a month ago and holy shit its fun. Ive learned so many things and its grerat. THe place i go to teaches mma muy tai and boxing also. I will probably pick up some of the other classes down the road when i got the money and a better work schedule. But basically this gym owns. I hear judo is sick too. you should look into seeing what the schools have to offer. for example the owner of mine fights in pro mma all the time. In other words hes into what im into as well as pretty much everyone there so we all share common interests makign the class alot more fun and exctiing to learn.

Prane 05-22-2007 10:46 AM

thanks for the info Andrew, i picked Judo and turned out the intstructor is an olympic judge and used to compete so i think i got it pretty good :P

P.S there's hot chicks! ( im 17 )

shoggoth 06-21-2007 06:56 AM

How would you go about finding a MMA type of place in your area and joining? About how expensive do you think it would be?

ChinPieceDave667 06-21-2007 07:20 AM

depends on the area. It could run anywhere from $80-$200 a month. Here is a web site that might help.
http://www.fightresource.com/?cid=5&lcode=37
it's in the middle of the page. also you can always google your area.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.