Bodybuilding Forum - Bodybuilding.net

Bodybuilding Forum - Bodybuilding.net (/)
-   Training (http://www.bodybuilding.net/training/)
-   -   Opinions on routine please (http://www.bodybuilding.net/training/opinions-on-routine-please-13309.html)

gospdrcr 11-17-2009 03:13 PM

Opinions on routine please
 
I joined a gym recently to start getting back into shape and get some exercise back into my life. I received some sessions with a trainer and he worked with me on my nutrition and some core/stability exercises then moved me to some weight lifting. Among my goals with the trainer were strengthen my core and lean out some. So far I have done all that and feel much better than I used to especially since I eat better, so far I have lost close to 12 lbs of fat and gained 6 lbs of muscle. But now I am done with the trainer and now trying to research for myself. He was leading me toward a 3 day split or muscle isolation days but since I have been doing some reading, doesn't look like that is the thing to do.

I am 31, 5'7" and currently 158 lbs. I currently have a calorie deficit but that is going to change. I currently eat 200g of protein and breakdown is 40/45/15 (not a guess, I logged it for the trainer). My goals are somewhat easy atm. I am loving that I am back in the gym but I do not want to try to really bulk up or try power lifting anything. I just want to improve myself. This forum might not be the best place for this but you guys seem to know what your talking about.

Since I have been beating myself to death with isolated muscle workouts I was leaning toward the beginners 5x5 posted on page 3 in the DFT 5x5 thread.

Monday Heavy Day
Squat 5 sets of 5
Bench 5 sets of 5
Row 5 sets of 5
2 sets of weighted hypers
4 sets of weighted Sit-ups

Wednesday Light Day
Squat 4 sets of 5
Incline Bench 4 sets of 5
Dead lift 4 sets of 5
Sit-ups 3 sets

Friday - Medium
Squat 4 sets of 5, 1 triple, back-off
Bench 4 sets of 5, 1 triple, back-off
Row 4 sets of 5, 1 triple
Weighted Dips 3 sets of 5-8
Triceps and Biceps 3 sets of 8 each

I do not know what my max reps are atm because the trainer was having me do 3 or 4x15 on a lot of exercises or pyramid reps going down as weight goes up. I would list the routine but I am sure you have an idea of a lot of little exercise to tenderize the meat.

Is this too advanced for me or my goals? I thought it may work well since it was explained to start out with light weight on the first set and work your way up, that way I get practice on my form. The trainer was nice enough to try to stay away from machine weights but I do understand I am a novice at this.

Since I am doing isolated muscle days, do I need take extra time off before starting or just start really really light for both form and recovery?

The dead lift and row that the trainer showed me was a stiff legged dead lift and a row where I help a BB underhanded but I held the weight the whole time. Do I need to make them the JS row and the standard dead lift for now?

Also I have ordered the book "Maximum Strength" because Wolf recommended it to someone some 13 pages back for mobility exercises. And can someone point to a good place to look at exercise form, thought Kane said there was something on GUS but I have only found a few there. Sorry for the book I just wrote but thought I would include some info.

Pitysister 11-17-2009 03:55 PM

max strength is a good book. also check out products by robertson and cressey....magnificent mobility, inside out, assess and correct, building the efficient athlete....all have very good stuff in them.

also, get on tmuscle.com and read their articles. along with mike boyle, nick tuminello...

i don't think isolation days are a good thing at all for you :) stick with fullbody functional training.

Kane 11-17-2009 07:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gospdrcr (Post 83372)
And can someone point to a good place to look at exercise form, thought Kane said there was something on GUS but I have only found a few there. Sorry for the book I just wrote but thought I would include some info.

Exercise Vids/Descriptions here:

http://www.gustrength.com/exercises

and here (tons of mobility stuff):

http://www.gustrength.com/videos

Some training info here:

http://www.gustrength.com/training

If there is anything you don't see, ask for it on the forum there. It will be found or created. :)

gospdrcr 11-19-2009 10:51 AM

Thanks for your help guys. I am going to see how what I can do max for 1x5 this weekend. But it probably won't actually be a max as I want to handle the weight easily to start off, especially with squats.

EricT 11-25-2009 11:08 AM

Fixed that glitch so that dynamic mobility video page list now shows up under mobility as well as videos. Sorry!

VanGTO 11-25-2009 12:55 PM

Get some deadlifts in there along with pullups, some cleans and snatches too.

All the big compound exercises are the best for getting more muscular.

Something that you could try which I find good to switch up to when i need a change in my training is HIT. There are videos on youtube showing you the way if you search mike mentzer hit workout.

The HIT principle is that you pre-exhaust with an isolation movement using very slow controlled reps then once you reach failure you imediately superset with a compound eg flyes and bench. The good thing about hit is it is intense and effective and will have you in and out of the gym quickly usually no longer than half an hour.

Workout For Muscle

Kane 11-25-2009 02:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VanGTO (Post 83490)
The HIT principle is that you pre-exhaust with an isolation movement using very slow controlled reps then once you reach failure you imediately superset with a compound eg flyes and bench. The good thing about hit is it is intense and effective and will have you in and out of the gym quickly usually no longer than half an hour.

And how exactly does pre-exhausting your muscles help you or give an advantage to the compound?

VanGTO 11-25-2009 02:57 PM

Well the weak link when you bench is your triceps your tris often fail before your chest. So the principle of pre exhaust is to significantly fatigue, in this case your chest, with flyes before moving straight on to the bench and taking your chest to complete failure.

It is about eliminating the weak links, being those muscles that will fail before your target muscles do allowing your target muscles to go to failure.

Check out Arthur Jones and the Colorado experiment along with the training of Mike Mentzer, Casey Viator, Sergio Oliva and Dorian Yates for more information

Ross86 11-25-2009 04:14 PM

^ oh no, not another one.......................

Kane 11-25-2009 04:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VanGTO (Post 83493)
Well the weak link when you bench is your triceps your tris often fail before your chest. So the principle of pre exhaust is to significantly fatigue, in this case your chest, with flyes before moving straight on to the bench and taking your chest to complete failure.

It is about eliminating the weak links, being those muscles that will fail before your target muscles do allowing your target muscles to go to failure.

Check out Arthur Jones and the Colorado experiment along with the training of Mike Mentzer, Casey Viator, Sergio Oliva and Dorian Yates for more information

Basically you make the 'target muscle' a weaker link than the wink link?

Why not just do flyes to failure?

So for deadlifts I should severely fatigue my lower back so that my hamstrings are no longer my weak link?


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.